Thoughts, Questions, Concerns, Stinging Rebuttals

My closing remarks. My reflections on the past 3 and a half months away from home. I have learned so much about Morocco, its people and customs, human rights, and the Arabic language. But I think more importantly than all that,  I have learned more about myself and my place the world. This past January, I wrote that my greatest excitement was the knowledge that I had no idea the person I would be when I returned. But now I’ve met her, and I like her. She’s kind of smelly.

I could never hope to articulate all that I have learned and discovered throughout this experience. And furthermore, the discoveries I’ve made here I believe are just for me. But I’m still the same person who sat by a dying bonfire the last night of camp in a kind of quiet sacredness, and I believe in ceremonial finales. And as Ramadan nears, I’ve been thinking about the importance of reflecting on the kinds of people we want to be. So I’ve decided to make a type of New Year’s resolution, in May. Here goes.

  1. Remember to be conscious of people’s humanity before writing them off. I don’t want to put anyone in a filing cabinet. Natasha, you taught me that to categorize is to dehumanize. I want to remember that everyone has insecurities, fears, and stories that make them smaller and more vulnerable than I realize.
  2. Make more of an effort to prioritize my family, because their love has made me realize how lucky I am to have such wonderful parents and sisters.
  3. Be grateful for the present moment. In the passing moments of laughter with my roommates, sitting quietly on the beach, or singing to musicals alone in my apartment, I want to practice gratitude for small moments of bliss.
  4. Write more poetry.
  5. Know that every sun does rise.

It’s been a hell of a ride, but we did the damn thing. It’s been a wonderful experience and one that I will treasure always. If anyone would like to read my final research project it’s titled, “Understanding the Moroccan Family Code through the Lens of Pluralist Feminism.” It analyzes the 2004 family code through the ideologies of secular and Islamic feminism. I will gladly send the link to anyone who is interested. (Just email me at anna-rouw@utulsa.edu.)

I’ve been jamming to the Legally Blonde musical soundtrack recently. And seeing as it’s a time of finality, as I leave Morocco, watch my friends graduate, and begin planning for my own post-grad future, I’ll leave you with some closing remarks from everyone’s favorite fictional law student, Ms. Elle Woods.

 

Leave a Reply

